Changing Post – Your One-Stop information Shop
Image default

UK visa visitor

Visitor Visas

EEA and Swiss nationals do not require any visitor visa to visit the UK. Nationals of some other countries (eg USA, Japan, Brazil) are classified as “non-visa nationals” and they do not have to hold a visitor visa to visit the UK, but they are entitled to apply for one before they come to the UK if they wish to (typically because they have some adverse history, and they do not want to take any chances about not being admitted to the UK). But, if all goes well, a non-visa national can gain entry to the UK just by showing their passport.

Nationals of other countries are classified as “visa nationals” and in all cases, they require a visitor visa to visit the UK, and so nationals of these countries have to submit a visitor visa application to the relevant British diplomatic post in their country. This includes nationals of countries such as Russia, Kazakhstan, Belarus, China and India.

Settled Status

Settled Status in the UK refers to the immigration status granted to eligible EU, EEA, and Swiss citizens, as well as their family members, who were living in the UK before the end of the Brexit transition period (December 31, 2020). It allows individuals to continue living and working in the UK without any immigration restrictions. Settled Status is part of the UK government’s EU Settlement Scheme, which was introduced to protect the rights of EU citizens and their family members residing in the UK after Brexit. Once granted Settled Status, individuals are granted the right to stay indefinitely in the UK and enjoy various benefits and services.

ILR in the UK

Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR) in the UK is an immigration status that grants an individual the right to live and work in the country without any time restrictions. ILR is also known as settlement or permanent residency. It allows individuals to stay in the UK for an indefinite period and provides them with a wide range of benefits, such as access to public funds, healthcare, and education.

A standard visitor visa is granted for a period of up to but not exceeding six months. Visitors are not allowed to spend more than six months in the UK on any one occasion. Long-term visitor visas can be issued for one year, two years, five years or ten years. They are suitable for people who have an established record of visiting the UK and who have a good immigration history. Very importantly, a long-term visitor visa holder is only allowed to spend up to 180 days in the UK in a 12-month period.

Related posts

How Travel Has Altered the Lives of numerous

Hayk Lee

Corporate Travel – Are You Ready to Centralize Your Program Again?

Hayk Lee

Handling a Travel Agency for the Trip

Hayk Lee